June 23, 2011

I’m so sorry I have been MIA the past couple of days! I didn’t even touch my computer yesterday, and the day before that I was busy spending as much time as possible with my friends. So it’s finally come: the last day before moving.

Last night was the going away get together thing. It was very nice to spend time with not just the group of friends I hang out with regularly, but some old friends too. I think that was the best part of the whole thing; hanging out with everyone, not just a select group of people. It’s funny how you may only talk to someone [an old friend] once and a while, but as soon as you start talking it’s right back how it used to be with them. It’s even nicer when you haven’t talked to that person – like, really talked – for a very long time, and then you finally talk again. The fact that you wasted so much time being stupid and hating each other [hypothetically speaking, of course… ehem…] and now you finally got over that the day before one of you leaves to go to school the entire way across the country… well… that sort of puts a damper on things; but it is still the most wonderful thing to make up with someone – clear the air, as it were.

Y’all will be happy to know that I only cried a very small amount. A few tears after saying goodbye, and a few tears may have been shed this morning while watching The Aristocats with my darling Amanda. [I fell asleep while watching, and may or may not have woke myself up by saying “Goose… goosie goosie…” in my sleep, when the two geese Abigail and Amelia were chatting onscreen.]

It doesn’t feel like it’s time to go yet, but in a way it feels like it’s the right time. It’s time for me to move on with my life, and start a new adventure. I’m so glad to have been surrounded by such good friends here, and I hope I am fortunate enough to make friends like that wherever I go – although I doubt anyone will be as… special as my ones here. I’ll do my best to keep you all posted on what’s going on, and what’s exciting. I am, however, going to be with l’internet de sketch over the next week or so, as I travel and settle in, so I will try to drink as much coffee, and buy as much bread as possible so as to use the bakery’s WiFi, and hopefully soon I’ll have internet at home!

We’ll meet again quite soon, be it here, or at a class reunion in 20 years – when we are all wildly successful and only partially wrinkled and balding.

Leave a Reply

