Git ‘er done

Often I am quite amazed by memoirs. Not because of the things the author has done, or the troubles they have faced [and often overcome]. No, I am amazed that people can remember their lives in such vivid colour. I can barely remember what I did last week, let alone years in the past, and my number of years is much less than many of those who are writing memoirs.

Another thing about memoirs is that they often make me feel like I should be doing something, and not in a good way. They make me feel like I should have already done things, amazing things, world changing things. But I’m not ready to do amazing things yet! That’s something we young folk often forget, I think. Or, some of us forget… some have not doing anything down to an art.

I don’t mean for this to demote me in any way. I’ve done things. Nothing too spectacular [in my eyes at least], but I’ve done things at the pace I believe things need to be done. I attended high school pretty regularly, I graduated, I’m going to university in the fall, I have plans for the future; I’ve been in love, and have had by heart sufficiently stomped on. Of course there will always be the people that excel beyond the ordinary limits of excellence. They raise thousands of dollars for mysterious diseases, or travel the world, and have experience far beyond their years [all before they reach puberty]; and that’s not a bad thing. It’s just not for everyone.

Some people, myself included, need to take time – you could call us procrastinators, but procrastinators would be behind, we’re right on time – to do these spectacular things. Think of how many things you can get done in a day – a day where you don’t sit around in your pyjamas all day watching The O.C. … – then think about the fact there are seven of those days in a week; then fifty-two of those in a year; and so many years to come. There is so much time to do things, and while some people expedite the process, I prefer to take my time and, I suppose, take time to enjoy life[ a lot of this enjoyment comes from writing: helpful to career; and dancing with my cat, Simon [Betsy is not so into dancing…]: not so helpful for my career].

You don’t need to feel like you haven’t done anything extraordinary if you haven’t had time to do anything extraordinary yet. Extraordinary things will happen for you. As long as you want to do something, I believe you’ll do it. You’ll find a way, and that discovery could take a while, so don’t worry yet.

Oh, and Starbucks apparently has all the answers. Don’t forget it.

Leave a Reply

