Impulses: right time, or wrong time?

Hi y’all! I’m going to assume right off the bat that you read my post from last night. About life being too short to not take risks, etc. I’m also going to assume that you’ve all had something you want to tell someone, but have hesitated on.

First off, why do we hesitate so much on things like telling people how you feel about them? I’ve always been the kind of person that thinks it’s important to tell people how I feel. Maybe it’s not the best when you don’t really like the person… people don’t like to hear that you don’t like them, and I’ve worked on that. But what about the people you do like, the people you love? Why should you hold that in? Even if the person doesn’t feel the same way back, they sort of… well… I don’t like to use the word deserve here, but I feel like they should know. Nothing even has to happen from you telling them! You can just say it, and that can be that. It can just be a statement of fact that doesn’t even really change anything.

I suppose this warrants a teensy explanation… well…. I feel a certain way about someone. So I told them. Easy enough. It’s all the freaking romantic comedies I’ve been watching. Oh my God, just have to take a small side-tracked rant here. DON’T YOU HATE IT when you go to watch a romantic comedy, and it’s not even FUNNY?! It has all the crappy plotting of a romantic comedy, just without any of the comedy. So disappointing. Anyway, I watched a particularly inspiring one last night that actually made me realize that I was being a n00b, and if I want to actually grow up and be a real human being, I’m going to have to express my feelings. So ba-boom. Expressed.

Anyway, what do you guys think? Should you tell people how you feel? Even if it might possibly ruin a really awesome new friendship, and even if you’re moving 4,766km away from the person that you’re expressing your feelings to? And you might have possibly expressed these feelings before… a long time before… and back then they were reciprocated… but you might possibly have been a ginormous jerk and ruined any possibility of ever getting them reciprocated again? *Sheepish face*… Eh?

Leave a Reply

